James Monroe - 5th President of the United States

James Monroe, the fifth President of the United States, is renowned for his pivotal role in shaping American foreign policy during his two terms in office from 1817 to 1825. His presidency marked a significant turning point in American history, characterized by territorial expansion, diplomatic achievements, and the establishment of the Monroe Doctrine, which proclaimed the principle of non-intervention in the affairs of the Americas. Under Monroe's leadership, the United States acquired Florida from Spain, established diplomatic relations with new nations emerging in Latin America, and negotiated the Rush-Bagot Agreement with Britain, limiting naval armament on the Great Lakes. Monroe's presidency epitomized a period of national unity, prosperity, and growing international influence, earning him the moniker, "the Era of Good Feelings."